Arcadia Public School logo

Arcadia Public School

Arcadia Public School

Be Outstanding, Be Inspired

Telephone02 9653 1207

Learning at our school

At Arcadia Public School we are proud of our academic success. 

We have high expectations of all our students and develop within them a passion for learning. We believe that all students benefit from this learning culture that promotes high standards and achievement. It is our school community as a working partnership that sets these expectations that drive us into the future.

A strong focus on literacy and numeracy provides our students with the foundations for their future academic success.  Excellent numeracy programs develop the skills your child will need to apply mathematical knowledge to real life situations.  Each child’s skills are enhanced through explicit teaching and the use of hands-on materials.

Our school provides an engaging, stimulating and supportive learning environment that allows each child to achieve and gives them the best possible start to their academic development.

Stimulating and innovative academic programs are tailored to the individual learning style of your child allowing them to achieve their full potential, extending academically advanced students through enrichment opportunities and providing successful support programs in response to individual learning needs.

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Related content